Building local tourism

East Hampshire is a wonderful place to live and visit, with picturesque villages and bustling towns, easy access to vibrant coastal cities and sea-going pursuits, and mile after mile of beautiful countryside.

And with almost 4 million tourism day trips made to East Hampshire in a normal year, generating a total spend in the region of £150 million, tourism is an increasingly important part of our local economy.

There is a bountiful array of attractions on offer across the area; some of which are known right across the globe, and others that remain hidden local gems.

There really is something for everyone and for every age, and their uniqueness is part of what makes this area a destination for so many people.

 

For information on places to visit and events in Petersfield, go to: https://visit-petersfield.co.uk/

For information on places to visit and events in Alton, go to: http://www.alton.gov.uk/

For information on visiting East Hampshire, go to:  http://www.easthants.gov.uk/visit-east-hampshire  

For the latest news on what to do across Hampshire, go to:  http://www.visit-hampshire.co.uk/

The National Trust website also has details on places to visit in the area NT HAMPSHIRE

 

MUSEUMS

Jane Austen's House Museum http://www.jane-austens-house-museum.org.uk/

Chawton House Library http://www.chawtonhouse.org/

Petersfield Museum and Flora Twort Gallery http://www.petersfieldmuseum.co.uk/

Curtis Museum http://hampshireculturaltrust.org.uk/curtis-museum

Allen Gallery http://hampshireculturaltrust.org.uk/allen-gallery

  

FAMILY DAYS OUT

Mid Hants Railway 'Watercress Line' http://www.watercressline.co.uk/

Butser Ancient Farm http://www.butserancientfarm.co.uk/

Hollycombe Steam Fair http://www.hollycombe.co.uk/

Birdworld http://birdworld.co.uk/

Gilbert White’s House & The Oates Collection http://www.gilbertwhiteshouse.org.uk/ 

Petersfield Physic Garden http://www.petersfieldphysicgarden.org.uk/

Grayshott Pottery http://grayshottpottery.com/grayshott-pottery.php

Lasham Gliding Club http://www.lashamgliding.com/

  

THEATRE

Pheonix Theatre & Arts Centre http://www.phoenixarts.co.uk/

The Festival Hall & New Savoy Cinema http://www.thefestivalhall.co.uk/

Winton Players http://www.wintonplayers.org.uk/

Petersfield Theatre Group http://www.petersfieldtheatregroup.org/

Bedales Gallery & Olivier Theatre http://www.bedales.org.uk/bedales-arts/events/gallery

  

THE BIG OUTDOORS

South Downs National Park http://www.southdowns.gov.uk/

Queen Elizabeth Country Park https://www.hants.gov.uk/thingstodo/countryparks/qecp

Alice Holt http://www.forestry.gov.uk/aliceholt

Meon Springs http://www.meonsprings.com/ 

Two Hoots Campsite http://www.twohootscampsite.co.uk/

Adhurst Yurts  https://www.adhurst.co.uk/

Sky Park Farm https://www.skyparkfarm.com/

  

ACCOMMODATION & EATING

East Hampshire is fortunate to have a great selection of hotels, pubs and restaurants.

 

For details of where to stay in Hampshire: http://www.visit-hampshire.co.uk/where-to-stay

The Tourist Board's 'Great Country Pubs' website is also worth a look: http://www.greatcountrypubs.com/destinations/pubs-in-hampshire

For the latest details and reviews, take a look at Tripadvisor: TRIPADVISOR HAMPSHIRE

 

 

 

 

News

Visit to Petersfield Museum

Damian thanked Jeremy Mitchell and Vaughan Clarke for showing him around the re-imagined Petersfield Museum ahead of the official re-opening, saying:

"The refurb has created a wonderful space for visitors and celebrates the unique heritage of the police station site" 

New visitor attraction opens at deer farm

Damian had the pleasure of visiting Sky Park Farm last week (with Chichester MP Gillian Keegan) to see how they are restoring the ancient practice of deer farming, with a shop, cafe, adventure playground and education hub to follow soon.